Hiding What No Wise Person Wants

At that time Jesus declared, “I thank you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that you have hidden these things from the wise and understanding and revealed them to little children; yes, Father, for such was your gracious will (Matthew 11:25-26 ESV)

Jesus thanked the Father that these things were hidden from the wise and understanding but revealed to little children. It seems to me that this kind of hiding is different from how we typically think about it. My wife likes to hide money from me. Her intent is to hide it so I can’t find it. So she looks for a secret place she thinks I won’t look. But here’s the key: she knows that I will be looking.

Hiding something, from the human viewpoint, only makes sense if someone will be looking for it. No sane person hides what no one wants to find.

And this is precisely where reason lets us down because of its inherent limitations. Here is another example of God doing what no one else would do. He hides what no one with “wisdom and understanding” wishes to find.

It seems that God hides in a different way. He hides things from people who aren’t interested in looking for them at all.  So he can hide them in plain sight and they won’t be found because the “wise and understanding” aren’t even looking.

Revelation is childlike looking. Damnation is thinking I don’t even need to look. It turns out that what God has hidden from the so-called “wise and understanding” is their own imagination and curiosity.

Leave a comment